Are you in charge of your life?

Are you who you want to be? Are you doing what you want to do, or is your life based on someone else’s expectations of you?

Sometimes we please our friends, spouses and significant others to our own detriment. We give them more power over our decisions than we give to ourselves.

There are times we follow them and they take us in directions we do not want to go. We are afraid to STOP! Take another path or make a u turn toward what we really desire.

We know when we’re on the wrong path because our spirit has no peace.

The truth is… we cannot bring joy to others until we are pleased and happy with ourselves.

 Be true to yourself; take charge of your life!

Ameenah Ross is a nurse, freelance writer, and author of the inspirational book: Depression Free, A Wise Woman’s Guide to Healing and Happiness.

 pic for web

 

 

4 thoughts on “Are you in charge of your life?

  1. As an independent woman with a successful career I feel blessed to be where I am and have what I have. Am I happy and at peace with myself? I can’t say that I am. I recognize myself to be a nurturer and find pleasure in helping others but often to the detriment of my own joy taking on burdens that are not mine to bear and biting my tongue instead of saying what I feel if I think it will hurt someones feelings and yes sometimes taking a less desired path to please someone else. My desire it to trade in my independent spirit for a truly God dependent spirit and step out on faith, letting God lead my steps. If I can do this I’m sure my contentment sometimes peppered with resentment will change to happiness and peace.

  2. I can Identify with your feelings…I use to feel a lot like that, until I conciously made an effort to change…change is not easy when you have been doing or being the same way for most of your life but …with God anything is possible!!! An excellent book that helped me ( now has a newer edition) was “How to say NO without feeling guilty… by Patti Breitman and Connie Hatch. A great gift for yourself!! Oh! and remember to hold on to your ….
    P. Pray and keep God First
    O. Outsmart an energy drainer
    W. Wear your confidence with style
    E. Empower your dreams
    R. Rise above your circumstances

Leave a Reply

