NATIONAL MENTAL HEALTH MONTH

 

Depression…will have you existing behind a veil of darkness. Slowly, killing your dreams and goals…

Over 20 years ago I overdosed on prescription pain medications and over the counter drugs, ironically I was a nurse on the psychiatric unit of a hospital. I was great at taking care of others while my own baggage was becoming too much to bear.

When I awoke in an emergency room I knew I had hit the bottom of the black hole that had been haunting me… That end was my beginning of a journey to claim my life of passion and purpose that I deserved to have.

Since that time I have dedicated myself to helping educate others on depression; prevention and resources for help.

Extremely important, is breaking the stigma connected to depression that keeps many people from reaching out for the help they need.

Depression does not discriminate. It doesn’t care about the color of your skin, your age, how many degrees you have or how much money you have in the in the bank. Look around you…Many people wear mask to hide what they’re feeling, after all…what would happen if you knew?

My book…Depression Free… A Wise Woman’s Guide to Healing and Happiness shares my story and offers great tools for creating positive life changes.

“We all have one life to live and one chance to live it. Do it well and with purpose!

 

From the desk of Ameenah 


 

 

Leave a Reply

